Victorian Fury 2017 team announcement

30/04/2016 ANL Fury v Darters at the SNHC Photo: Grant Treeby

Netball Victoria is pleased to announce the athletes selected in the 2017 Victorian Fury team which will compete in the Australian Netball League (ANL).

The squad will feature two athletes from last season’s Premiership team, with eight new faces joining the list next season.

“It’s a new look exciting Victorian Fury,” Head Coach Leesa Gallard said.

“We have gone with a mix of experienced and emerging athletes to ensure we have leadership in each area on court, and then worked the combinations to give us a strong team unit for success in 2017.”

A further six athletes have also been named as Victorian Fury Training Partners.

The Victorian Fury is an important component of the pathway for both Netball Victoria and the Melbourne Vixens.

“We’ve had significant on court success since the competition commenced in 2008, and the program is integral to preparing athletes for that next step, the National Netball League,” said Netball Victoria General Manager – High Performance, Rebekah Webster.

“We believe our Victorian Fury team is the best resourced program in the ANL and provides development opportunities and athlete support services that currently aren’t matched by other ANL teams.”

“The support and collaboration we have from our Victorian Netball League clubs, who are the breeding ground for our next Victorian Fury and Vixen athletes should also be mentioned. The high quality daily training environments they offer our athletes really do ensure that our Victorian pathway remains strong and sustainable.”

The Victorian Fury will start training on Sunday 13 November, before they commence their pursuit of a fifth consecutive ANL title in 2017.

Athletes who are contracted to the Melbourne Vixens or are named as Training Partners will remain eligible to participate in the ANL competition with the Victorian Fury.

A Melbourne Vixens Training Partner announcement will be released in the near future.

2017 Victorian Fury Team

Casey Adamson (ACU Sovereigns)
Elle Bennetts (Melbourne University Lightning)
Amelia Brock (ACU Sovereigns)
Alice Coakley (ACU Sovereigns)
Lara Dunkley (Boroondara Express)
Ramayer Gourley (Boroondara Express)
Molly Jovic (City West Falcons)
Stephanie Puopolo (Adelaide Thunderbirds)
Kelsie Rainbow (Monash University Storm)
Rahni Samason (Wilson Storage Southern Saints)

2017 Victorian Fury Training Partners
Kate Thompson (Geelong Cougars)
Tahnysha Salanoa (City West Falcons)
Maggie Lind (City West Falcons)
Elizabeth Birch (Boroondara Express)
Victoria Honner (City West Falcons)
Jacqueline Newton (City West Falcons)