Victorian Netball League Awards Night winners

2/9/2016 VNL Awards Photo: Grant Treeby

The 2016 Victorian Netball League season has officially come to an end following the Awards Night at The Park at Albert Park on Friday evening.

The night celebrated the outstanding achievements of the Clubs, players, coaches, umpires and volunteers throughout the 2016 VNL season, which culminated at the Grand Finals at the State Netball and Hockey Centre on Saturday.

Congratulations to the Melbourne University Lightning (Championship), City West Falcons (Division One) and Geelong Cougars (19/Under) on winning this year’s divisions.

Netball Victoria wishes to congratulate all of the award winners from tonight.

Margaret Caldow Most Valuable Player Award: Maggie Lind – 55 votes (City West Falcons)
Hot Shot Award Winner: Kathleen Knott – 567 goals (City West Falcons)
Joyce Brown Coaches Award: Elissa Kent (Melbourne University Lightning)

VNL Championship Team of the Year
Goalers: Ashlee Howard (Boroondara Express), Kathleen Knott (City West Falcons), Mikaela Vaughan (Melbourne University Lightning), Gabrielle Sinclair (Melbourne University Lightning).
Mid-Court: Elle Bennetts (Melbourne University Lightning), Ella Bayliss (DC North East Blaze), Maggie Lind (City West Falcons), Danielle Stewart (Melbourne University Lightning).
Defenders: Fiona Themann (Melbourne University Lightning), Shannon Eagland (Melbourne University Lightning), Michaela Wilson (DC North East Blaze), Mary Livesey (DC North East Blaze).

Division One
Most Valuable Player Award: Emily Post – 51 votes (City West Falcons)
Hot Shot Award Winner: Danielle Phillips – 510 goals (Yarra Valley Grammar Ariels)
Coaches Award: Christie Barnes, Marg Lind and Nicole Richardson (City West Falcons)

VNL Division One Team of the Year
Goalers: Shae Gee (Boroondara Express), Mandy Hanegraaf (City West Falcons), Grace Parker (Geelong Cougars), Rebecca Colwell (DC North East Blaze).
Mid-Court: Emily Post (City West Falcons), Tarryn Munro (DC North East Blaze), Johanna Dash (Boroondara Express), Bianca Cheever (Geelong Cougars).
Defenders: Kirsten Daley (Wilson Storage Southern Saints), Tayissa Coppinger (DC North East Blaze), Sarah Winch (Melbourne University Lightning), Stephanie Boyce (City West Falcons).

Most Valuable Player Award: Ella Quinlan – 64 votes (Wilson Storage Southern Saints)
Hot Shot Award Winner: Ella Quinlan – 538 goals (Wilson Storage Southern Saints)
Coaches Award: Melanie Savage (Geelong Cougars)

VNL 19/Under Team of the Year
Goalers: Suli Leota (DC North East Blaze), Hannah van Gemst (Geelong Cougars), Ella Quinlan (Wilson Storage Southern Saints), Sacha McDonald (ACU Sovereigns)
Mid-Court: Georgia Harper (DC North East Blaze), Riley Stephens (Geelong Cougars), Ashley Ryan (ACU Sovereigns), Laura Cayzer (Geelong Cougars).
Defenders: Sarah Szczykulski (DC North East Blaze), Brooke Allan (Geelong Cougars), Allie Smith (Geelong Cougars), Georgia Bowkett (DC North East Blaze).