Community Netball Award winners announced


22/102016 Netball Victoria Community Awards 2016 Photo: Grant Treeby

Netball communities from across the state celebrated the 2016 Netball Victoria Community Awards at the RACV City Club in Melbourne on Saturday.

The evening recognised the outstanding contributions to the sport of netball by individuals, groups, volunteers and community members, who on a regular basis go above and beyond what is required to facilitate the success of the sport at all levels.

“We are delighted to be able to come together to recognise the outstanding achievements of the award winners and to celebrate being involved in such a long-standing and successful sport,” said Netball Victoria CEO Rosie King.

In her short time at Netball Victoria, King has found the netball community to be an incredibly hard working and committed group of people.

“The spirit of support, collegiality and the good will across all levels of contributors is an absolute credit to the sport,” King said.

“I have met many people over the past several weeks who down play their efforts despite working with tight timelines, great pressure and increasing demands which most times require them to step up and go the extra mile.”

Netball Victoria wishes to congratulate all of the award winners from tonight.

Inclusive Netball Community of the Year
Drouin and District Netball Association

NetSetGo Centre of the Year
Laurimar Netball Club

Outstanding Contribution to Coaching
Robyn Smith – Benalla Saints

Outstanding Contribution to Umpiring
Leah Saunders – Goulburn Valley Netball League

Outstanding Small Association/League
Lakes Entrance Netball Association

Outstanding Large Association/League
Melbourne East Netball Association

Volunteer of the Year
Kim Fitzpatrick – Charlton Netball Club

WorkSafe Safety Initiative Award
Boolarra Football Netball Club and Mallee Eagles Football Netball Club