Six Victorian athletes named in World Youth Cup squad

30/04/2016 ANL  Fury v Darters at the SNHC Photo: Grant Treeby

Six Victorian athletes have been selected in the 2016-17 Australian Netball World Youth Cup squad, that will form the basis for the 2017 Netball World Youth Cup team, to be hosted in Botswana in July next year.

Jane Cook (City West Falcons), Kate Eddy (Boroondara Express), Matilda Garrett (Monash University Storm), Samantha Gooden (Yarra Valley Grammar Ariels), Emma Ryde (Boroondara Express/Melbourne Vixens) and Alice Teague-Neeld (Geelong Cougars/Melbourne Vixens) all earned selection in the squad.

Also joining them is Kelsie Rainbow, who hails from Tasmania, but plays for Monash University Storm in the Victorian Netball League and is a Victorian Institute of Sport (VIS) scholarship holder.

The 2016-17 squad was named by Australian World Youth Cup Coach Tania Obst, selector Jill McIntosh and Netball Australia’s National Pathway Manager Stacey West. To be eligible, athletes must be under the age of 21 as of 31 December 2016.

“We’ve been watching this group of athletes for a number of years through the national underage pathway and have taken into account this year’s National Championships, Australian Netball League, ANZ Championship and the recent 20/U International Netball Series,” said Obst.

The athletes will continue to train in their home environments, before meeting at Netball Australia’s Centre of Excellence for a five-day camp in November.

The Netball World Youth Cup is a major stepping-stone on the national pathway. Five current Diamonds, Kim Ravaillion, Paige Hadley, Gabi Simpson, Gretel Tippett and Jo Weston were members of the 2013 Netball World Youth Cup Team.

“With such depth in our squad, the future of Australian netball looks bright,” added Obst. “The World Youth Cup will provide invaluable international exposure for our young athletes.”

016-17 Australian Netball World Youth Cup squad
(name, state of origin)

Toni Anderson (New South Wales)
Jessica Anstiss (Western Australia)
Lucy Armfield (South Australia)
Keira Austin (New South Wales)
Natalie Bright (Western Australia)
Emily Burgess (South Australia)
Jane Cook (Victoria)
Kate Eddy (Victoria)
Prudence Ellis (New South Wales)
Sophie Garbin (Western Australia)
Matilda Garrett (Victoria)
Sasha Glasgow (South Australia)
Samantha Gooden (Victoria)
Annika Lee-Jones (Western Australia)
Jemma Mi Mi (Queensland)
Claire O’Brien (New South Wales)
Hannah Petty (South Australia)
Kelsie Rainbow (Tasmania)
Emma Ryde (Victoria)
Alice Teague-Neeld (Victoria)