Fury name 15 athletes

ANL Round 7

Netball Victoria today named 15 athletes in the 2015 Victorian Fury team ready to defend their 2014 Australian Netball League title.

Fury, undefeated in their past 23 matches, will again challenge for the title with a side potentially boosted by five current Melbourne Vixens athletes.

Netball Victoria High Performance Manager Rebekah Webster said the strength of the athlete pathway in Victoria made for a difficult decision when finalising the team.

“The depth and talent across the Victorian netball landscape definitely made it tough for the selection of a final team of 15 athletes,” Ms Webster said.

“With the strength of the Victorian Netball League and our Victorian State Team programs, we feel confident that we can continue to produce quality netballer’s ready to take on the Australian Netball League.”

“Seven of our current 12 Melbourne Vixens athletes have made their way through this pathway to the elite level, a testament to the coaches, umpires and officials across our state.”

Led by experienced coach Kristy Keppich-Birrell, the side will begin training tomorrow evening ahead of their opening match against the NSW Waratahs on Saturday 20 June.


Bennetts, Elle Melbourne University Lightning
Bragg, Melissa Geelong Cougars
Browne, Kelsey VIXENS/Yarra Valley Grammar Ariels*
Dunkley, Lara Boroondara Express
Eagland, Shannon Yarra Valley Grammar Ariels
Mannix, Emily VIXENS/City West Falcons*
Priestley, Ella DC North East Blaze
Puopolo, Stephanie Yarra Valley Grammar Ariels
Ryde, Emma Boroondara Express
Sinclair, Gabrielle Yarra Valley Grammar Ariels
Teague-Neeld, Alice VIXENS/Geelong Cougars*
Themann, Fiona Melbourne University Lightning
Vaughan, Mikaela Melbourne University Lightning
Watson, Chloe VIXENS/City West Falcons*
Weston, Joanna VIXENS/Melbourne University Lightning*



Eddy, Kate Boroondara Express
Lind, Maggie City West Falcons
Reilly, Leah Yarra Valley Grammar Ariels
Samason, Rahni Wilson Storage Southern Saints
Woodlock, Demi City West Falcons


*Current Melbourne Vixens ANZ Championship athletes have been selected in the Victorian Fury subject to ANL eligibility rules.