Victorian Fury team finalised and ready to defend 2015 Australian Netball League title

NSW Waratahs vs Victoria Fury - 20 June 2015

Netball Victoria is pleased to announce the athletes selected in the 2016 Victorian Fury team.

The list includes six athletes from last year’s Victorian Fury team, ready to defend their 2015 Australian Netball League (ANL) title.

Jane Cook, Kate Eddy and Kate Thompson have been selected this year, with previous experience in ANL as part of the Victorian Flames team in both 2013 and 2014. Sam Gooden, Tayla Honey and Maddy Balson complete the team of twelve.

Netball Victoria High Performance Manager Rebekah Webster said that the selected athletes showed a lot of potential, which would be further developed within the Victorian Fury training environment.

“The standard of athleticism and talent made selections very difficult this year, but the netballers named today make a really exciting team,” said Ms Webster.

“The changes to the format of this year’s ANL competition will allow us to provide Victorian Fury athletes with exposure and experience. We’re looking to the future and preparing these athletes for elite netball at the Melbourne Vixens level.”

“Victorian Fury Head Coach Cathy Fellows has been working hard to ensure our athletes are prepared for the season ahead.”

The Victorian Fury will strive to win a fourth consecutive title in 2016. The season will open with a double header between Victorian Fury and the Canberra Darters at the State Netball Hockey Centre on Saturday 30 April and at Hisense Arena on Sunday 1 May.

2016 Victorian Fury Team

Jane Cook City West Falcons
Kate Thompson Geelong Cougars
Sam Gooden Yarra Valley Ariels
Mikaela Vaughan Melbourne University
Elle Bennetts Melbourne University
Ella Bayliss (nee Priestley) North East Blaze
Tayla Honey ACU Sovereigns
Lara Dunkley Boroondara Express
Fiona Themann Melbourne University
Shannon Eagland Melbourne University
Maddy Balson City West Falcons
Kate Eddy Boroondara Express