Captains announced at State Team Dress Presentation

2016 Team Captains

Netball Victoria has celebrated the athletes selected in the State Underage Program, presenting the 2016 teams with their dresses and announcing team captains at the State Netball Hockey Centre on Sunday 21 February.

The umpires selected to officiate at the National Netball Championships were also recognised at the ceremony, receiving mementos from Netball Victoria High Performance Umpire Coordinator Cathy Gallop and Life Member Dawn Long.

Netball Victoria High Performance Manager Rebekah Webster said that the leadership group for each team possessed and exhibited both passion and pride in playing for Victoria, and noted that all eight athletes in leadership roles were highly respected by their peers.

“The captains and vice-captains selected for the Netball Victoria State Underage Program all show genuine leadership qualities both on and off the court, and will be of great support to their teammates and respective coaching staff,” said Ms Webster.

“Each team had their own selection process which included contributions from their peers and the coaching staff and were selected due to their demonstration of key leadership qualities including integrity, accountability and determination.”

“I believe that our Victorian State Teams will be strong contenders in the Underage National Netball Championships.”

The 21/U State Team will travel to Tasmania for the National Netball Championships on Monday 7 March, whilst the 17/U and 19/U State Teams travel to Western Australia on Monday 11 April.

The leadership group for the Independence Australia Victorian All Abilities State Team is yet to be announced.

17/U State Team
Captain: Kate Kelly-Oman
Vice-Captains: Allie Smith and Maddy Gray

19/U State Team
Captain: Casey Adamson
Vice-Captain: Jacqueline Newton

21/U State Team
Captain: Molly Jovic
Vice-Captains: Emily Post and Kate Eddy

Independence Australia Victorian All Abilities State Team
To be announced at a later date.

21/U National Netball Championship Umpires
Nathan Begley
Andrea Booth
James Matthews

17/U and 19/U National Netball Championship Umpires
Maddie O’Niel
Tim Marshall
Brodie Roberts