Nominate your local netball inclusion champions


Australia Post and Netball Australia are calling on netball Clubs, Associations and their communities to nominate their local inclusion champions for the Australia Post One Netball Community Awards.

Now in their second year, the Awards recognise and reward the individuals, Clubs and Associations that go above and beyond to create and support inclusive netball environments.

They include the coaches, umpires, parents and committee members who work behind the scenes to ensure everyone, regardless of their background or ability, is welcome in netball.

Up to eight winners will be chosen to receive prize packs worth more than $1000, including Australia Post Load&Go cards.

Geva Mentor, England National player and Australia Post One Netball Ambassador, said that the awards were a wonderful way to highlight the importance of inclusion.

“The Australia Post One Netball Community Awards are now open, it’s a fantastic way to acknowledge all the wonderful individuals or groups that are making our great game of netball more accessible. Last year was the inaugural year and we introduced to some amazing stories of people going above and beyond to welcome everyone into the community no matter their race, skill or ability,” said Mentor.

Australia Post Chief Marketing Officer, Greg Sutherland, said the Australia Post One Netball Community Awards rewarded netball inclusion champions who extended a hand to diverse groups, including multicultural and Indigenous Australians, socio-economically disadvantaged communities, people with a disability and regional and remote communities.

“Netball is a fantastic vehicle to build awareness, empathy and understanding of diverse groups in local communities. Out on the netball court, personal and social barriers can be broken down; we want to celebrate those champions that make this happen.”

Nominations are now open at Tell us how someone you know, your Club or Association are creating a netball environment in your local community that includes everyone.

Nominations close on Sunday 5 July and winners will be announced on Monday 20 July 2015.