Victoria to defend Marie Little OAM Shield

All Abilities

Victoria’s Independence Australia All-Abilities team will be aiming to defend its title as Marie Little OAM Shield champions when it hosts the tri-state tournament at the Waverley Netball Centre this Sunday.

The Marie Little OAM Shield provides an opportunity for netballers with an intellectual disability to compete at a national tournament which will be contested between New South Wales, South Australia and Victoria.

The inaugural Marie Little OAM Shield was held in Sydney last year with Victoria triumphant. Victorian captain Renay Hall is looking forward to this year’s round robin tournament.

“I am very proud and excited to be representing Victoria and I am looking forward to playing with my teammates in front of a home crowd and l hope we have a good tournament,” Hall said.

The format of the Shield remains the same, with each state playing four matches over the course of the day. But the change this year is that the top two teams face off in a Final to decide the champion.

Acting Netball Victoria CEO Katie Redding said the state is delighted to host a fantastic tournament.

“It is brilliant to see the joy and camaraderie this tournament brings to all these athletes, coaches, umpires and support staff from across Australia, Redding said. “We wish all teams the very best of luck for this competition.”

Marie Little OAM is the founder of AUSRAPID and served as president from 1986 until 2011. She’s worked tirelessly to improve the lives of Australians with an intellectual disability using sport as the medium.

Her vision has been a revelation to the development of sport for people with a disability not only in Australia, but right throughout the world.

“This tournament provides an opportunity for everyone to see Marie Little OAM Shield players alongside the ANL competition, recognising their commitment, talent and passion for the sport we all love,” Netball Australia’s Community Engagement Manager Julia Symons said.

“Netball Australia is proud to work in partnership with Netball NSW, Netball SA and Netball Victoria and AUSRAPID to deliver this opportunity for the players and their families.”

Entry to the stadium on Sunday is $5 for an adult, $3.50 concession and $2 for a child.


Netball NSW: Dallas Austin, Danielle Burns, Tara Daniels, Caroline Day, Rebel Ervasti, Sarah Jayne Forrest, Melissa Gallagher, Uriah Weston, Karina Baines. Coach: Jenny O’Keeffe.

Netball Victoria: Courtney Drake, Loretta Devlin Smith, Sue Hoskin, Helen Henshall, Dallas Lakey, Sheree Marks, Renay Hall, Kylie Campbell, Ashlea Rollason. Coach: Janet Parker.

South Australia Rubies: Isabella Ivancic-Holland, Stephanie Koutroumbis, Ashlee Harnett, Storm Duncan, Rebecca Holloway, Sam Walker, Amanda Berry, Alexandra Connell, Catherine Beinke, Nichole Edwards. Coach: Alison Muirhead.


The Australian Netball League competition continues over the weekend at the Waverley Netball Centre, with the Victorian Flames and Victorian Fury hosting the NSW Waratahs and OLD Fusion, match details are listed below:

Saturday 16th August 2014

Match 1: Victorian Fury Vs NSW Waratahs @ 7.00pm

Match 2: Victorian Flames Vs QLD Fusion @ 8.30pm

Sunday 17th August 2014

Match 1: Victorian Fury Vs QLD Fusion @ 10.00am

Match 2: Victorian Flames Vs NSW Waratahs @ 12.00pm