Victorian Fury named Victorian Team of the Year

26/07/2015 ANL Final Victorian Fury v SA Force Photo: Grant Treeby


Netball Victoria is thrilled with High Performance team Victorian Fury being named the Victorian Team of the Year at the Vicsport Awards on Wednesday night.

The Victorian Fury compete in the Australian Netball League and justified all regular season credentials in 2015 to claim the title for a record third straight year, defeating Southern Force 58-46.

The grand final victory against Southern Force marked a record of an unprecedented 32 consecutive wins dating back to 2013.

Former Victorian Fury Coach Kirsty Keppich-Birrell was pleased with the team’s performance in 2015 and proud to see the legacy live on.

“Yes the wins came, but what’s been really amazing has been that it has been a different group of athletes over the course of the 32 wins,” Keppich-Birrell said.

“All the girls have learnt something from each other… and for a coach that’s a wonderful and unique thing to have.”

Netball Victoria General Manager High Performance & Commercial Operations was pleased to see the community celebrating the accomplishments of Victorian Fury.

“The Victorian Fury team has been the benchmark in netball at this level over the last three seasons,” said Ms Gerdtz

“It is great to see this amazing team recognised amongst its Victorian peers.”

For more than 30 years, the Vicsport Victorian Team of the Year Award has recognised outstanding achievements in sport.

2015 finalists included: Dandenong Rangers, SEABL Team; Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers, Cricket; The Armed Vics, Bowls; Melbourne Victory, Football; Hawthorn, Australian Rules Football.