2017 VNL Award winners announced

The 2017 Victorian Netball League (VNL) Season has culminated in a wonderful VNL Awards night, held at The Park, Albert Park this evening (Friday 25 August).

The event celebrated the outstanding contributions of players, coaches, umpires and volunteers this season, and recognised those who excelled in their positions.

Congratulations to the DC North East Blaze, who claimed the Championship Division Premiership, and the Geelong Cougars, who claimed victories in both the Division 1 and 19/U Grand Finals, held at the State Netball Hockey Centre last Saturday.

Netball Victoria Chief Executive Officer, Rosie King said she had been incredibly impressed with the standard of the league in her first year with the organisation.

“The Victorian Netball League is the state’s premier Netball competition and it has been amazing to see some of the emerging talent coming up through the Netball Victoria pathway this year,” said King.

“The competition has a great reputation and is widely known for its professional management and the calibre of the athletes and officials involved. So, it was very fitting to celebrate the end of a wonderful season of VNL with a magnificent event attended by 200 guests at The Park, Albert Park,” said King.

“On behalf of Netball Victoria, I would like to congratulate all the 2017 VNL Award winners on a wonderful season. We are already planning and looking forward to next year,” said King.


2017 VNL Award Winners

Margaret Caldow Most Valuable Player Award:
Micaela Wilson (DC North East Blaze)
Hot Shot Award: Elizabeth Nicol (DC North East Blaze)
Joyce Brown Coaches Award: Kate Upton (DC North East Blaze)

VNL Championship Team of the Year:
Kate Eddy (Boroondara Express), Matilda Garrett (Boroondara Express), Micaela Wilson (DC North East Blaze) and Mary Livesey (DC North East Blaze).
Midcourters: Elle Bennetts (Melbourne University Lightning), Molly Jovic (City West Falcons), Leah Reilly (DC North East Blaze) and Danielle Stewart (Melbourne University Lightning)
Goalers: Elizabeth Nicol (DC North East Blaze), Kathleen Knott (City West Falcons), Samantha Gooden (Boroondara Express) and Gabrielle Sinclair (Melbourne University Lightning).

Division 1
Most Valuable Player Award:
Rebecca Colwell (DC North East Blaze)
Hot Shot Award: Rebecca Colwell (DC North East Blaze)
Coaches Award: Gerard Murphy (Geelong Cougars)

VNL Division 1 Team of the Year:
Allie Smith (Geelong Cougars), Laura Giles (Geelong Cougars), Steffi Grenda (City West Falcons) and Monique Clarke (Ariels).
Midcourters: Bianca Cheever (Geelong Cougars), Bronwyn Taylor (DC North East Blaze), Samantha Coppinger (DC North East Blaze) and Clare Moylan (City West Falcons).
Goalers: Rebecca Colwell (DC North East Blaze), Hannah van Gemst (Geelong Cougars), Rebecca Scott (ACU Sovereigns) and Stephanie Tyrell (City West Falcons).

Most Valuable Player Award:
Jordan Cransberg (Melbourne University Lightning)
Hot Shot Award: Clare Vearing (Boroondara Express)
Coaches Award: Melanie Savage (Geelong Cougars)

VNL 19/U Team of the Year:
: Jaimee Van Leerdam (Geelong Cougars), Maddison Ridley (Wilson Storage Southern Saints), Zoe Cransberg (Melbourne University Lightning) and Majar Hikuroa-Betham (City West Falcons).
Midcourters: Georgia Harper (DC North East Blaze), Jordan Cransberg (Melbourne University Lightning), Eleanor Leydin (Geelong Cougars) and Freya Langston (City West Falcons).
Goalers: Suli Leota (DC North East Blaze), Ellen Doyle (Geelong Cougars), Abbey Ellis (DC North East Blaze) and Madelyn Gray (City West Falcons).