Experience leading VIC state teams in 2019

A strong leadership group has been named for the 17/U and 19/U Victorian state teams ahead of the National Netball Championships in Brisbane next month.

Maddi Ridley and Emma Walters will co-captain the 17/U team, with Melissa Oloamanu named as vice-captain, whilst Sacha McDonald will lead the 19/U team with the support of co-vice-captains Allie Smith and Gabby Coffey.

Coming agonisingly close last year, the 17/U team is determined to claim the title in 2019, the team’s first since 2014.

“I think if we are consistent, work hard, stay focussed and disciplined and work together, we can take it out,” said co-captain Emma Walters.

19/U captain Sacha McDonald already has a wealth of experience under her belt – entering her fourth Nationals campaign, her second year with the Victorian Fury and travelling to the Suncorp #TeamGirls Cup last weekend as a part of the Melbourne Vixens squad.

“Knowing how the top team in Victoria go about their business day-to-day is something I can take away little bits and pieces from and bring to Nationals,” said McDonald.

“The most obvious one was how the Vixens prepare for games and how each individual is so different.

“I think being a leader I need to be really aware of how each individual in the team likes to prepare for games.”

The 19/U team flaunts numerous championships, including the last three consecutive titles.

“I think it’s almost become an expectation for us as Victorians that we succeed at Nationals,” said McDonald.

“We’re also going in confident that the team is good enough to play well and get success. A fourth title in a row would be lovely, but we’re not getting too far ahead of ourselves and we’re going to take it match by match.”

The 2019 National Netball Championships will be held in Brisbane from 11 to 16 April. Find out more about the Victorian teams.


2019 state team captains


Captain: Sacha McDonald (Peninsula Waves/ Horsham District Football Netball League)

Vice-captains: Allie Smith (Geelong Cougars/ AFL Barwon) and Gabby Coffey (Melbourne University Lightning/ Alice Springs Netball Association



Captains: Maddi Ridley (Melbourne University Lightning/ Whitehorse Netball Association) and Emma Walters (City West Falcons/ AFL Barwon)

Vice-captain: Melissa Oloamanu (City West Falcons/ St Albans/ Caroline Springs Netball Association)