School Sport Australia 15/U Championship coming to Victoria

The 2018 School Sport Australia 15/U Championship is coming to Werribee, with some of Australia’s next best netball talent taking the court from Sunday.

The championship paves the way for young netballers to test their skills against some of the best athletes in the country.

A number of Suncorp Super Netball players competed in the championship in their time, including Victorians Kelsey Browne (Sunshine Coast Lightning), Alice Teague-Neeld (Magpies Netball), Fiona Fowler (Adelaide Thunderbirds) and Emma Ryde (Melbourne Vixens).

Victoria has a rich history at the Championships, making the grand final 11 times since the competition began in 2004, including five gold medals.

Team VIC player Melissa Oloamanu from McKinnon Secondary College said she is looking forward to having the championship in her home town.

“I know for sure that my family and all of the girls’ families will be in the crowd cheering and supporting the whole team on,” said Oloamanu.

“I can’t wait to meet all the other players; and I’m excited but nervous to see all the different plays that the other state teams will be bringing to the court.”

Oloamanu was also a member of the 2018 School Sport Australia All Australian Touring Team, which claimed gold at the recent International Schoolgirls Netball Challenge in Queensland.

“Competing for the All Australian team was the most wonderful experience that I’ve ever had.

“I met so many people from different countries and got to see how the different teams played – some similar and some different to how we play in Australia,” Oloamanu said.

The School Sport Australia 15/U Netball Championship begins this Sunday at Eagle Stadium in Werribee.

For more information on the Championship, visit the School Sport Australia webpage.


Team VIC 15/U Team

Emily Andrews (Strathcona Baptist Girls Grammar)

Poppy Douglass (Ballarat Clarendon College)

Tiahnee Farrell (Carey Baptist Grammar School)

Lucia Grace Fauonukui (Mackillop Catholic Regional College)

Lavinia Fox (Ballarat Clarendon College)

Malia Gale (Maribyrnong Secondary College)

Holly Garac (Toorak College)

Myah Healey (St Paul’s Anglican Grammar School)

Kaylah Loulanting (Rowville Secondary College)

Melissa Oloamanu (MacKillop Catholic Regional College)

Celeste Teal (Carey Baptist Grammar School)

Grace Valele (Melton Secondary College)


Training Partners

Hollie Peterson (Mount Erin Secondary College)

Jayda Scanlon (Box Hill Senior Secondary College)

Olivia Spence (Catholic Ladies College)