Victorian Fury team named

Netball Victoria has announced the Victorian Fury team who will compete in the 2019 Deakin University Australian Netball League (ANL), the feeder competition to Suncorp Super Netball.

The team of 12 will be supported by six training partners and have been selected by a panel which includes newly appointed head coach of the Victorian Fury, Di Honey.

Honey, who has been a part of the Melbourne Vixens coaching staff for the last six years, said that the mix of old and new faces will allow all athletes the opportunity to develop and learn, introducing them to the elite phase in the Netball Victoria pathway.

“I am very excited to have a team that is made up of a blend of youth and experience and the next generation of Victorian talent,” said Honey.

“I feel we have selected a team that boasts flair and athleticism, plus versatility.  A couple of the younger players took their opportunity and delivered in the match play to gain selection which was fantastic to see.”

While the squad has been training together, Honey said the next few months of preparation for the ANL season will focus on the team of 12’s dynamics and game play.

“Our approach from here on in will be hard work, lots of it, so they will become a well drilled team.

“We will be looking to build strong combinations and connections as we build from skill work to match play.

“We will work closely with the Vixens to emulate the way they train and play and to fully support and integrate the Vixens training partners so they are playing their best netball possible.

“I am also looking forward to building a close connection with all Bupa VNL coaches when the Fury players return to play for their club on a Wednesday night during the season.”

2019 Victorian Fury team

NAME                                                                       (VNL CLUB/JUNIOR ASSOCIATION)

Casey Adamson (Boroondara Express/Altona Netball Association)
Gabby Coffey (Melbourne University Lightning/Alice Springs Netball Association, NT)
Jordan Cransberg* (Melbourne University Lightning/Essendon District Netball Association)
Lara Dunkley** (Boroondara Express/Gippsland League)
Rudi Ellis** (Boroondara Express/St George District Netball Association, NSW)
Sacha McDonald (Peninsula Waves/Horsham District Football Netball League)
Hannah Mundy (Boroondara Express/Waverley District Netball Association)
Jacqui Newton** (City West Falcons/Albury Netball Association)
Uneeq Palavi (City West Falcons/St Albans/Caroline Springs Netball Association)
Emma Ryde (Casey Demons/Boroondara Netball Association)
Allie Smith** (Geelong Cougars/AFL Barwon)
Mikaela Vaughan (Melbourne University Lightning)


Training Partners

Tahnysha Salanoa* (City West Falcons/Craigieburn Netball Association)
Zanna Woods (Geelong Cougars/AFL Barwon)
Eleanor Leydin (Boroondara Express/Altona Netball Association)
Ally O’Connor (Geelong Cougars/Hampden Football Netball League)
Shae Kyle (Ariels/Alberton Football Netball League)
Tegan Stephenson (Boroondara Express/Mountain District Netball Association)


*Subject to fitness

**2019 Melbourne Vixens squad member