2020 Bupa Victorian Netball League fixture released

The fixture for the 2020 Bupa Victorian Netball League (VNL) season has been released, with the competition set to cover even more of the state in 2020, with an additional seven venues being added to the schedule.

The 10 Bupa VNL sides will get back into the swing of things as of March 2020 when Boroondara Express face Hawks Netball and Casey Demons do battle with Peninsula Waves to kick off Round 1 at the State Netball and Hockey Centre.

The 2020 season will consist of 18 regular season rounds, plus three weeks of finals, and will run from March through to August. A pre-season tournament will give teams an extra hit out at the State Netball and Hockey Centre on February 23.

There will be plenty of opportunities for fans to watch their team compete all season long, with matches being held on Wednesday nights and weekends, plus Friday night matches in Round 1 and 12 – hosted by the Wilson Storage Southern Saints – and a special Monday night blockbuster in Round 16, when Boroondara host Casey.

Seven new venues have been added to host Bupa VNL matches throughout the 2020 season, to bring the total number of playing venues to 18. Melbourne Girls Grammar, Latrobe Bundoora, Wendouree Stadium and Traralgon Stadium are among the new locations.

As well as these new locations, matches will remain at key venues such as the State Netball and Hockey Centre, Maroondah Nets, Community Bank Stadium, Casey Stadium, and more.

The 2020 season will also see new rivalries formed, with several key players having moved to new clubs and 2019 rematches set to rise tensions.

Key partner Bupa will again assist to bring all the action of the VNL to life in 2020.


The highlights of the 2020 Bupa Victorian Netball League fixture include:

• 18 rounds at 18 venues

• Seven new venues to host VNL matches, including Melbourne Girls Grammar, Latrobe
Bundoora, MSAC, Mullum Mullum Stadium, Wendouree Stadium, Traralgon Stadium and
Banyule Stadium

• 2019 Grand Final rematches to be held in Round 5 (Championship) and Round 7 (Division
One and 19/U)

• A variety of match times and days, including weeknights and weekends

• 2019 Division One MVP Maddi Wallmeyer and her sister Emma Wallmeyer moving from
Boroondara Express to Ariels

• Sharni Lambden (Collingwood Training Partner) and Sacha McDonald (2019 Victorian Fury
team member and Melbourne Vixens training Partner) recruited by Casey – this means Sacha
will join her AFL-playing brothers in Demons colours

• The return of Rebecca Colwell to North East Blaze, who took a year off in 2019 after being
awarded the Division One Hot Shot in 2017 and 2018

• Former Australian Diamonds’ captain and Suncorp Super Netball player – for both the NSW
Swifts and the Collingwood Magpies – Sharni Layton, recruited by Peninsula Waves

• Rhea Dixon from the Vitality Netball Super League (England) recruited by Peninsula Waves


You can view the full fixture here. See you in 2020!